Lewis Hamilton wins his sixth F1 driver’s crown

He’s now won three more than his hero Ayrton Senna. And he needs just one more to tie Michael Schumacher. Lewis Hamilton has earned his sixth Formula 1 driver’s title. The 34-year old Brit takes the top spot with just two races remaining on the F1 calendar.

Though teammate Valtteri Bottas won outright in Austin, Hamilton’s second place finish gives him more than enough points to add a punctuation mark to the 2019 season.

Hamilton has won in 2008, 2014, 2015, 2017, 2019, and 2019. That’s one hell of a run, and it doesn’t seem like the (no longer a) youngster is slowing down anytime soon. In 2020, he will vie to tie Schumacher for the most championships of all time. And it would be of no surprise if he continues on from there.

Congrats Lewis Hamilton. Six F1 titles is a truly remarkable achievement.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

The maximum upload file size: 64 MB. You can upload: image, audio, video. Links to YouTube, Facebook, Twitter and other services inserted in the comment text will be automatically embedded. Drop files here

3 responses to “Lewis Hamilton wins his sixth F1 driver’s crown”

  1. alex Avatar

    I’ve seen Senna race. Schumacher perhaps 9 times. In fact, I’m pretty sure I’ve seen EVERY world champion since 1993 race in person.

    Lewis is, indeed, a worthy champion. He is a man who can get the most from his car and win races with inferior equipment.

    My skin gets a bit crawly when I read about his carbon footprint and the like. But he is always humble and deferential to the great drivers of the past.

    Lewis, You’re OK with me.

    1. Zentropy Avatar

      I think it’s easier to get enthusiastic about reducing your own carbon footprint once you have earned your fortune. However, when you’ve built such wealth from a fuel-swilling career and the wasteful lifestyle that goes with it, it becomes more difficult for people to take you seriously on the subject of conservation. It’s like taking lessons on peace from a warmonger who is standing upon the body of his dead rival. I applaud Hamilton for taking measures to change his personal impact, but I’d rather he do it quietly. He does otherwise seem a pretty genuine guy, though.

  2. Vairship Avatar

    He’s so good he won in 2019 AND in 2019! 😉

%d bloggers like this: